Seven decades of the Rosary?


Recently, I came across and old rosary of my grandmother with seven decades. What is the meaning of this rosary and the focus?

--Really wondering in Rio Rancho


This is a special type of Franciscan or Servite Rosary that has seven decades. It is also known as the "Crown." One tradition has the conclusion of the seven decades with two Hail Mary's added. This tradition states that the 72 Hail Mary's represent the 72 years of Mary's earthly pilgrimage. The Seven Joys are:
1. The annunciation
2. The Visitation
3. The Nativity
4. The Adoration of the Magi
5. The Finding in the Temple
6. The Risen Christ appears to his Mother
7. The Assumption and Glorification of Mary as Queen


Add new comment